Sparring as the Language of Man. An Analysis of David Fincher’s “Fight Club”

“I see all this potential, and I see it squandered. Goddamit an entire station pumping gas, waiting tables… slaves with white collars, Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate. So we can buy shit we don’t need.” – Tyler Durden.

I’m not really that knowledgeable when it comes to action-psychological-inner-men-conflict movies. I’ve been raised to think not that straight paced and focus on every different side of things. I mean, Men can do that too – But. They’re more of a one-thing matter. They do things to which they can be done. They’re not very emotional about things because it’s a waste of time for them. To which I find their species very complex and well – boring.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not being sexist here. I’m just stating my opinion since the movie is indeed fixated on that genre. Anyways, referring to Tyler’s quote above. I really agree on the matter that society always fixates us to be someone we are not. Many are so amazed on the things that make other people shine. Flesh. Cars. Sexiness. Money. Fame, and all that shit that makes us fell low of ourselves.

But the thing is – When you’re different, you’re boring – weird – gross and not socially acceptable. How come?. Is it because of your so called “equality”. To which beautiful for beautiful, rich men for the rich and ugly for the same kinsman as well. I hate to break it to you babe but, it’s not equality – it’s racism. I don’t know who raised your belief or shit but, believe me – I have the same kind of experience when it comes to “classifying” people.

Back then, I really believed the things I said above. It was my quote. My will to live for and stuff. I won’t mention on how I got this belief. Because, the person who made me think like this has her name already unclean or well – not that nice in the reception of people.

Moving on, Brad Pitt and Edward Norton’s Fight Club alongside David Fincher – the director himself. “…bookstores were full of books like The Joy Luck Club and The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and How to Make an American Quilt. These were all novels that presented a social model for women to be together. But there was no novel that presented a new social model for men to share their lives.” I didn’t really get the director’s reason for doing the said project but – I got to find out that he was amazed by how Palahniuk brought out the idea and let people see this point of view.

I wish that more people would create this kinds of stuff. Well – I’m guessing they still do. But, I want these things to hit mainstream you know. Things with meaning – broader concept and not being stuck on such simpleton ways.

Norton in the story was “everyman” he has no name for the matter – It’s a third person’s point of view. The story talks about him doing his white collar and fighting his insomnia in order for that matter to not be a form of a barrier to his job, life-earning and all. Meeting Tyler Dunham a “soap-maker.” To which he asks for a stay in his apartment he agrees for the purpose of giving him a number on his face, to which he does. BOOM. Friendship happened and “fight club” was born.

The real meaning of the story for me – was the inner conflict of his. “Tyler” here is another entity of the narrator. In a psychological manner, Tyler was someone who’s probably a dead person or a stronger entity. Didn’t really get that part but, it was either of the two for me. Anyway. Self-conflict is no joke for me. I remember watching a film like that before. Sideline here. Anyways. There’s that. What happened was the “weak persona” had four other entities. The tough one, The familial one, and The woman who’s been through a lot of things that made her hate people. Short story here, The though one as a strong persona killed them all. But the weak one is smarter than all of them, so he somehow he was not really killed – he escaped that path and he overthrew the tough one – who made them all suffer.

Norton here, figured out everything in the end and like what I mentioned and all. “He overthrew him and made him the rising entity.” Well. It’s not how it really it turned out. But. He did won the inner battle.

Man v.s Himself was teached to us back then, as one of the four types of conflict. It is believed to be the hardest of them all.  Its that kind of conflict where you sometimes hate yourself for the things that you’ve done – doing or going to do. But the half of it is proud. Namely, Good and Evil. Logic and Emotions. Name it. I am not ashamed to say that I’m experiencing this struggle as of today’s writing.

Remember the saying that Nobody can help you but yourself?” – When no one’s around anymore, no hand to hold, no shoulder to cry on, no form of outlet to seek when you’re well – full of it. Hate – sadness – fear – whatever. I’m sorry to say this but please seek help, do whatever it takes for someone to help you. Don’t give up. Sorry. But I’m not used to say that get help from God and this, since I’m not that much of a holy speaker. Well. It’s better than being a hypocrite about it.

Recalling back. How did Tyler Dunham, did a move on The Narrator’s body and soul?. With sleep. Sleep is where we get rest – when we’re at our weakest, we can be killed, die during sleep, massacre, any forms of thing that can well – let us be erased from existence.

In Tyler’s case he had done a full takeover of The Narrator’s body. He took over him by doing on project mayhem. In order to let the museum explode. Another lesson for me to tell you here is that anybody can take over us. Anybody can do a number of influencing us til they had fulfilled the takeover from them – to us.

That’s mostly how a junior is created. Do you ever heard or see that fact or scenario that “Hey. You’re like that person you really idolize.” “Cool. You’re like the second version of *insert someone who’d done it first*.” That things happens my friend if your faith or character is not full of it.  Like, when you allow yourself to be controlled by others.. and you want to go with the flow… and you’re like “fitting in” because of the things that people “forced” unto you to become one of them. Yeah. That’s pretty much how it works.

Listen. You can’t be someone you’re not. You can’t push yourself to like. Be that kind of what they want you to be. People’s wants/desires are changeable. Change is inevitable remember?. Everything changes and so does their desire – and soon you’ll follow to. You know how to be yourself?. Do it. Even if you’re society’s trash for granted. Well not that much. A little change can help but not to the point that you erase who you really are. Here’s my advice. “Change the bad things within you. Retain the good things that make you good and respected.” Help other people too. It’s not that bad lending a hand once in a while. I mean. Even though Tyler is that much bad boss (hot) he is. He did teach the Narrator on how to not let the stronger entity take you on and let it drive your life. I believe that everything has a purpose – lessons to add it and things that can make you wander. Even if it’s a male movie.  I can say that it’s a good one.

Leave a Reply

