A glimpse of the outside world maybe? (An Analysis of M. Night Shyamalan’s: The Village)

 Did you ever just step out of your house and wander what’s going on around town? . I for one, live in a village so I know the manner of being in that surrounding. A village is really quite different to those whose houses are just not really displayed in a well manner. I’m not saying that it’s bad – but, When you live in a village, there’s the assurance of safety, privacy and a good place to wander out and about.

My experience of being in a village, serves as fine-class training condition. The guards are roaming 24/7 they’re all alert, in control – sometimes a little bit discourteous. But. I can let that slide can I?. The guards mostly are new ones and the upper ones only come through once in a while so there’s that. But, everything’s really going according to order, in the movie – however, started with someone mourning off a coffin and the people we’re like weeping off someone dead?. I can’t really seem to envision in a deeper analysis – But that’s how it seemed to me.

Village_ foto 1

It already envisioned something to me – like the words “this isn’t an ordinary village.” “something creepy must be going on here.” “I would wonder what kind of shits and stuff occurred here. It’s scary – mysterious at the same time.” Knowing that on what I did think was right all along. Because, the next thing that came through – was a dead dog – not just a dead one – but, furless, eyes, bloodshot and well, it has that foul smell of death.

The secret already lies here. The Village – the homeowners has something in their sleeves that they only keep to themselves. There is a reason that they do so, I’m not going around the bushes any longer – so here’s a little spoiler.

The elders has this treaty with “those we don’t speak of” – they are monsters to where people are scared of – they wear “red cloaks” – to which they speak of as the forbidden color. Because they symbolize the whole thing as a threat, and that there’s “balance” because of what they did set up.

I never did knew what was their real score here. But, “they’re fooling the people for what? – Honor. Control. Its very mysterious.” All I know is that they’ve been fooled everyone for years. Emotions had been installed to people. Like scared, for their lives. They’ve been running away – keeping safe and perfection a battle gear towards the everyday struggle. I tell you – Being scared to be perfect is no laughing matter to deal with, the struggle is more than real and it’s shitty.

the-village-movie-monster-bryce-dallas-howard

Ivy Elizabeth Walker is a daughter of the elders. She is blind, fragile and not that good to stand up for herself, depending on Lucius Hunt – whose praised by the elders as one of the best people who lived in the village, he has a good reputation as a citizen and people did look up to him that dearly.

Ivy’s sister – Jayne confessed to Lucius, not that much of a good confession but she did say her love straight in a manner that led out to a rejection. Which I find funny. Because these happens a lot – these days. Many of us are really straightforward to our feelings, we don’t really look on the other person, so we get dumped and we think bad about the other person to which we shouldn’t, we assume so much that’s why we end up being the loser about it.

Turns out. Ivy and Lucius we’re the ones who’d end up together – the next lines will allow me to elaborate further information of the scenes.

Ivy: Why can you not say what is in your head?

Lucius: Why can you not stop saying what is in yours? Why must you lead, when I want to lead? If I want to dance, I
will ask you to dance. If I want to speak, I will open my mouth and speak. Everyone is forever plaguing me to speak
further. Why? What… good is it to tell you you are in my every thought from the time I wake? What good can come
from my saying I– I sometimes cannot think clearly, or- or do my work properly? What gain can rise from my telling
you… the only time I feel fear as others do, is when I think of you in harm? That is why I am on this porch, Ivy
Walker. I fear for your safety above all others. And yes… I will dance with you on our wedding night.

What’s beautiful about this is that Lucius and Ivy have been together for years – they’re not technically them. But I can feel the fact that they’re very close to each other. Lucius’ main goal is to keep everyone safe and sound within the village and Ivy – a special one for that matter, wants Lucius to be taken care of, he’s been keeping so much about himself and it’s bugging her.

We keep secrets for our own reasons and Lucius here cannot change for someone who’s so casual about “living” since he’d possess goals for him, the villagers and Ivy. The flavory part of this movie isn’t about love at all. It’s about the both of them living despite knowing the struggles of the limits to them being inside and out towards the village.

village-2004-03-g

Moving on, All villages possesses rules and regulations they have curfews and such that keeps our actions limited to what want to do and not want to do. The difference lies to where the elders kept something strange and creepy which wasn’t really that strange nor creepy at all.

They (Elders) just want the people to move away from the city as much as possible, they hate the fact that “these people.” Can grow up in a city – be smart and stay away from their rules as much as possible.

As I read somewhere – It is mentioned that Edward the main leader of the elders. Ivy and Jayne’s father as well. –has made a deal with the outsiders in order to protect their families’ fortune and all. In exchange – they are recognized as “animals.” who should not be disturb. I get the fact that they wanted to protect their people. But why?. Why move them away from a civilized nation. Why let them stay on the other side of the world to continue their life, But they’re not actually growing at all as a nation?

I get the precaution that maybe, this is a psychological matter between the Director – M. Night Shyamalan and his experiences in life.

images

“Maybe. It’s a crummy secret, about one step up the ladder of narrative originality from It was all a dream. It’s so witless, in fact, that when we do discover the secret, we want to rewind the film so we don’t know the secret anymore.” Robert Ebert a movie critic from the Chicago – Sun Times .

His comment regarding the movie was probably one of those closest things that I could find for. But – the measures that we’re taken in order to withdraw from the outside world is something that I find amazing in Mr. Shyamalan’s concept. Most of us, to tell you the truth, cannot survive in the evolving world that we live in. In fact. I bet 30% of the world would do so follow the same thing when it comes to “uninvolving yourself.” From the outside world.

Even if it did mean – not being able to grow up as a society that survives through the everyday struggle. The movie is basically all about limiting ourselves to the extent of outside forces –

But – what I did find amazing again – is the will of not growing up in order to “be safe.” and live in a dominant-rule-controlling-world to which everyone co-exist with just the right taste for living.

Leave a Reply

